• Home
  • Sport
  • Salah Wins CAF African Player of the Year Award Again

Salah Wins CAF African Player of the Year Award Again

9 January 2019 Sport

Egypt and Liverpool striker Mohamed Salah was voted as the African Footballer of the Year for the second successive year at the Confederation of African Football’s (CAF) awards ceremony in Dakar(Senegal) on Tuesday.

Salah beat fellow nominees, Liverpool team-mate Sadio Mane and Arsenal forward Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang.

He edged the same two players last year in a vote decided by the technical directors and head coaches of 56 CAF member associations.

Salah is now the first player from the north of the continent to claim the title back-to-back.

Salah was also voted the BBC African Footballer of the Year for the second time in December.

Houston Dash and South Africa forward Thembi Kgatlana was crowned the 2018 African Women Player of the Year prize.

Kgatlana was outstanding for South Africa at the 2018 AWCON tournament where she emerged top scorer of the after netting five goals. She was also named the Most Valuable Player beating three-time winner Asisat Oshoala(Nigeria) and Francisca Ordega(Nigeria)to the crown.

Oshoala was hoping to score a fourth win after her first three victories in 2014, 2016, and 2017 but that was not to be in Dakar on Tuesday night.

South Africa’s coach Desiree Ellis won the African Women’s Coach of the Year while Hervé Renard was adjudged the men’s Coach of the Year.

Mauritania won the Men’s Team of the Year 2018.

Nigeria’s Super Falcons won the Women’s Team of the Year 2018 by the Confederation of African Football, CAF. The Super Falcons won the 2018 Africa Womens Cup Of Nations tournament in Ghana for a record ninth time after beating South Africa 4-3 on penalties in the final.

Amaju Pinnick, president of the Nigeria Football Federation and first vice president of CAF received the award on behalf of the Super Falcons.

Borussia Dortmund and Morocco’s Achraf Hakimi beat Nigeria’s Wilfred Ndidi to the Young Player of the Year Award.

For the Goal of the Year; a new addition to the CAF Awards, South African female striker, Kgatlana was the proud winner.

Ydnekatchew Tessema Trophy for the Federation President of the Year was won by Fouzi Lekjaa president of the Federation Royale Marocaine de Football.

There was big heartbreak for many Nigerians as no player from the country made the cut for Africa Best XI for 2018.

, , , , ,


Leave a Reply