On Air

Daybreak Show Your wake up Feel Good Show

  • Home
  • Sport
  • Ronaldo Beats Messi To Win Ballon d’Or 2016

Ronaldo Beats Messi To Win Ballon d’Or 2016

12 December 2016 Sport

Real Madrid forward Cristiano Ronaldo has won the prestigious Ballon d’Or award for a fourth time.

Ronaldo, 31, helped Real Madrid win last season’s Champions League and scored three goals as Portugal won Euro 2016.

Cristiano Ronaldo

It adds to the titles he won in 2008, 2013 and 2014.

Ronaldo is now one behind Barcelona forward Lionel Messi, who received the honour in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2015.

The former Manchester United forward has scored 19 goals in 20 games for club and country this term, to add to the 54 he got last season.

Ronaldo’s Real Madrid team-mate Gareth Bale finished sixth in the vote, while Leicester City striker Jamie Vardy – the only Englishman included on the 30-player shortlist – was eighth.

The Ballon d’Or is given to the best Europe-based player as voted by 173 journalists from around the world.

It has been awarded by France Football every year since 1956, but for the past six years it became the Fifa Ballon d’Or in association with world football’s governing body.

However, Fifa ended its association with the award in September.

Also Read: Costa Secures Chelsea’s Ninth Straight League Win

Fifa will hand out its own prize for the world’s best men’s player, along with the best women’s player and team of the year, at the Best Fifa Football Awards ceremony in Zurich on 9 January.

Ronaldo’s 2016 in numbers

-42 games, 38 goals, 14 assists

-Third best minutes-per-goal rate – 83.68 – of anyone scoring a minimum of 10 goals across Europe’s top five leagues during 2016, behind Luis Suarez (82.57) and Falcao (59.6)

-Directly involved in 39 La Liga goals in 30 games – 31 scored and nine assists.

Past Ballon d’Or winners

2015: Lionel Messi                           2008: Cristiano Ronaldo
2014: Cristiano Ronaldo              2007: Kaka
2013: Cristiano Ronaldo              2006: Fabio Cannavaro
2012: Lionel Messi                           2005: Ronaldinho
2011: Lionel Messi                           2004: Andriy Shevchenko
2010: Lionel Messi                           2003: Pavel Nedved
2009: Lionel Messi

, , , , , ,


Leave a Reply