Joy in Team Nigeria’s Camp As Ekevwo Emerges Africa’s Fastest Man

Few hours after the camp of Team Nigeria was hit by the disappointment of Blessing Okagbare’s disqualification in the women’s 100meters final, Nigeria’s Raymond Ekevwo yesterday emerged the fastest man in Africa after he won the men’s 100m sprint at the ongoing African Games in Morocco in 9.96second.

Ekevwo ran a spectacular race to break 10s for the first time in his career, dominating the field with a new Personal Best (PB) of 9.96s, while 2017 National Junior Champion, Usheoritse Itsekiri won the bronze medal in the men’s 100m with a new Personal Best of 10.02s, also securing qualification for Tokyo 2020 Olympics.

Ekevwo’s  time of 9.96s is just 0.01s shy of the Championship Record (CR) of 9.95s set by Deji Aliu at the 2003 African Games in Abuja to become Nigeria’s 1st Men’s 100m Champion at the African Games since 2007.

Apart from the spectacular feat in athletics, Team Nigeria continued to rake medals in other events to move up to fourth position on the medals table.

As at the time of this report, Team Nigeria had amassed 49 medals comprising of 20 gold, 13 silver and 16 bronze medals.

In the women’s Hammer, Temilola Ogunrinde and Sade Olatoye clinched the Silver and Bronze medals throwing distances of 64.68m & 63.97m respectively In the shot put, Chukwuebuka Enekwechi, broke Frank Elemba’s African Games record of 20.25m to set a new record of 21.48m, a mark he landed on his last attempt.

His compatriot, Dotun Ogundeji meanwhile finished 4th with a throw of 20.06m. In the men’s 110mHurdles final, Abejoye Oyeniyi overcame a poor start to race to a Silver medal, getting to the line in a time of 13.90s, finishing behind Algeria’s Amine Bouanani who won gold in 13.60s.

In the Men’s Singles 1/32 Final 9, Toriola Segun defeated Tunisia’s Ben Yahia Kerem 4-0 just as Abiodun Bode defeated Eritrea’s Mikael Joel with the same scoreline in the final 1 Meanwhile, the quartet of Joy Udo-Gabriel, Blessing Okagbare, Mercy Ntia-Obong and Rosemary Chukwuma clocked a time of 43.49s to win heat 2 of women’s 4x100m relay.

Similarly, the quartet of Ogho-oghene Egwero, Divine Oduduru, Emmanuel Arowolo and Seye Ogunlewe got round the baton to win heat 1 of men’s 4x100m relay with a time of 39.13s.


Leave a Reply