Fifa Introduces ‘Best Football Awards’ After Splitting With Ballon d’Or

Fans can vote for Fifa’s world player of the year, after the world governing body’s association with the Ballon d’Or ended earlier this year.
The Best Fifa Men’s Player 2016 is one of eight prizes to be announced at the Best Fifa Football Awards in Zurich on 9 January.

Fifa ran a separate World Player of the Year award from 1991 until 2009, but linked up with France Football and the Ballon d’Or for the past six years.

The Fifa men’s and women’s player and coach awards will be decide by a two-part process.

The votes of the captains and head coaches of all of the world’s national teams will make up 50% of the result, with the other half split between an online public ballot and more than 200 media representatives around the world.

Some 23 candidates for the men’s award will be announced this Friday, with a three-man shortlist confirmed on 2 December.

The awards, several of which were also present alongside the Ballon d’Or, are:

-The Best Fifa Men’s Player 2016

-The Best Fifa Women’s Player 2016

-The Best Fifa Men’s Coach 2016

-The Best Fifa Women’s Coach 2016

-The Fifa Puskas Award 2016 (for goal of the year)

-The Fifa Fair Play Award 2016

-The Fifa Fan Award 2016

-Fifa FifPro World11

USA’s World Cup-winning midfielder Carli Lloyd and Barcelona and Argentina forward Lionel Messi won the respective player awards at the 2015 Fifa Ballon d’Or awards in January.

Leave a Reply


COVID-19 is Real! Wear your masks always & wash your hands, too.