FCT Minister Inaugurates State Community Policing Advisory C’ttee

2 June 2020 National News News

The Federal Capital Territory Minister Malam Muhammad Musa Bello, has inaugurated the FCT State Community Policing Advisory Committee, with a call on members to be guided by the principles of natural justice and the laws of Nigeria.

Inaugurating the 17-member committee headed by the FCT Commissioner of Police, Bala Ciroma, the Minister also urged members of the committee to be non-partisan in the discharge of their duties.

He also reminded them that the concept of community policing was anchored on a premise of trust between the people and security agents.

Malam Bello said those selected should be provided with basic training required for the job.

He also advocated for a robust feedback and monitoring mechanism on the performance of those appointed to assigned tasks within the communities.

The minister further called for the confidentiality of investigations and protection of informants.

The Assistant Inspector General of Police (Community Policing), Mr Bala Senchi said the implementation of the policy will be cascaded down to the grassroots through the State Community Policing Committee, Area Command Community Policing Advisory Committee, Local Government Community Policing Advisory Committee, the Divisional Community Policing Committee and the Special Constabulary.

Also speaking, the Inspector General of Police, IGP Mohammed Abubakar Adamu, who was represented by the Deputy Inspector General Police in charge of operations, Alh. Abdulmajid Ali said Community Policing will bring back communalism in the communities which he said had been lacking for a long time.

He also commended the FCT Administration for taking the laudable step of embracing community policing as a method of checking crime in the FCT.

In his acceptance speech on behalf of other committee members, the FCT Police Commissioner ,Bala Ciroma who is also the Co-Chairman of the Committee said the Committee members accepted the responsibility and promised they will deliver on the mandate assigned to them.

Members of the FCT State Community Policing Advisory Committee are:

i. CP Bala Ciroma – Chairman

ii. HRH Adamu Baba Yunusa- Onah of Abaji

iii. Senator Phillip T. Aduda- Senator representing the FCT

iv. Rev. Dr Samson Jonah- Chairman, FCT Christian Association of Nigeria

v. Dr Tajudeen M.B Adigun- Chairman, FCT League of Imams Initiative

vi. The Commander, Army HQ Garrison, Abuja

vii. The Commander, Guards Brigade, Abuja

viii. The Commander, Naval Unit, Abuja

ix. The Commander, 053 NAF Camp, Abuja

x. State Director, Department of State Service, Abuja

xi. The Comptroller, Nigeria Correctional Services

xii. The Commandant, NDLEA, FCT Command

xiii. The Commandant, NSCDC, FCT Command

xiv. The Comptroller, Nigeria Immigration Services, Abuja

xv. The Sector Commander, FRSC, FCT Command

xvi. The Director Security Services Department, FCTA

xvii. Chief Bolaji Adigun – Chairman, Police Community Relations Committee.

Remi Johnson/Abuja


Leave a Reply