Enugu State Swears In 17 LG Caretaker Chairmen

ENUGU STATE GOVERNORThe Enugu state Governor Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi has sworn in 17 caretaker committees for the local government councils in the state with a charge for them to live within their respective council areas.

The governor also directed all the newly inaugurated Local Government Caretaker committee Chairmen and their deputies to be brace up for a governance style embedded in a strict fiscal discipline in view of the peculiar situations confronting each of their council areas.

They are  Prince Cornelius Nnaji of Enugu East local government, Mr. Afam Okereke of Nkanu West council area and Cornnel Onwubuya of Uzo-Uwani local government council who were retained.

Other chairmen of the council caretaker committees include, Prof Rose Onah for Nsukka, Ekwe Chidi from Aninri, Igwe Isaac Chukwudi – Enugu North, Sunday Ugwu – Enugu South and Fred Ezenwa – Ezeagu.

Others include Malachy Agbo – Igbo-etiti,Uwake Ezeja – Igboeze North, Fidelis Odoh – Igboeze South and Benjamin Edeoga – Isiuzo among others.

The governor said the era of running the local government system from hotels was over in the state.


He disclosed that the swearing-in of caretaker councilors would take place on Monday 11th January, 2016 at the various local government council areas .

AT the  event State Commission for Local Government, Chief Chijioke Edeoga thanked Governor Ugwuanyi for constituting amiable team made up of people with pedigree and integrity.


Leave a Reply


COVID-19 is Real! Wear your masks always & wash your hands, too.