• Home
  • National News
  • News
  • Constitution Review : FCT Indigenes Demand For State ,More Senatorial And Federal Constituencies
FCT Abuja

Constitution Review : FCT Indigenes Demand For State ,More Senatorial And Federal Constituencies

19 September 2020 National News News

The Indigenes of the Federal Capital Territory ,FCT Abuja ,have joined the league of other Nigerians Thursday , seeking for alteration of provisions of the 1999 Constitution for specific demands .

The indigenes who came under the aegis of Original Inhabitants Development Association of Abuja ( OIDA), submitted memorandum seeking for far reaching alteration of provisions of the Constitution for actualisation of their demands .

First in the series of demands by Abuja Natives , tabled before the Senate Constitution review committee as sighted in the 45 page memorandum submitted to that effect by OIDA President , Pastor Danladi Jeji , is recognition of FCT as a State on its own .

According to them, making FCT a State , would pave way for it to have an elected Governor and legislative Assembly for itself .

Federal Capital Territory , they maintained should be constitutionally made to be a State under the administration of an elected Governor while Federal Capital City ( FCC) , should also be recognised with Mayoralty status .

Six federal Constituencies as against the present two, are also demanded for along with three as Districts as against the existing one .

Also requested for in the memorandum , are additional 11 local government councils to be added to the existing six Area Councils .

The eleven Local Government Councils being demanded for , are ÷ Rubochi with Rubochi as Headquarters , Yaba with Yaba as Headquarters , Wako with Dangara as Headquarters and Galuwyi with Galuwyi as Headquarters

Others are ÷ Kubwa with Kubwa as Headquarters , Karshi with Karshi as Headquarters , Karu with Karu as Headquarters , Sapeyi with New Garki as Headquarters , Jiwa with Jiwa as Headquarters , Bobo with Yebu as Headquarters and Zuba with Zuba as Headquarters .

The already existing six Area Councils are – Abuja Municipal , Bwari, Gwagwalada, Kuje , Kwali and Abaji .

Abuja indigenes in the memorandum , also requested for constitutional provision of Ministerial Slot for indigenes of the territory as applicable for indigenes of the other 36 states of the federation .



 James Itodo/Abuja

, , , , ,


Leave a Reply