• Home
  • News
  • BREAKING: Walter Onnoghen Sworn In As Chief Justice Of Nigeria

BREAKING: Walter Onnoghen Sworn In As Chief Justice Of Nigeria

7 March 2017 News

Acting President Yemi Osinbajo has sworn in a new Chief Justice of Nigeria (CJN). This  becomes Nigeria’s 16th CJN according to records from supremecourt.gov.ng.  The swearing in was done Tuesday morning  at a ceremony where Walter Samuel Nnkanu Onnoghen was also decorated with Nigeria’s second-highest national honour of the Grand Commander of Order of the Niger (GCON).

Justice Onnoghen’s nomination was last week confirmed by the Senate.

President Muhammadu Buhari, who is on extended vacation in the United Kingdom, had last November inaugurated Onnoghen as acting Chief Justice of Nigeria sequel to the retirement of Justice Mahmud Mohammed.

READ ALSO: BREAKING: Walter SN Onnoghen Confirmed As Chief Justice Of Nigeria

The acting president had on February 7 forwarded Onnoghen’s nomination to the Senate.

It will be recalled that there was a prolonged agitation, over the appointment of the Hon. Justice Walter Samuel Nkanu Onnoghen as acting Chief Justice of Nigeria, rather than the substantive Chief Justice of Nigeria.

Justice Onnoghen graduated from the University of Ghana at Legon, Ghana in 1977 and from the Nigerian Law School in Lagos in 1978.

Before joining the Supreme Court, he was a judge in Cross River State and a justice of the Court of Appeal.

Onnoghen was born on the 22 December 1950 at Okurike Town, Biase local government area of Cross Rivers State.

66- year old Walter Samuel Onnoghen has been a Justice of the Supreme Court of Nigeria since 2005 and will be the 20th person to occupy the position since 1914, according to judiciary records.

Others to have occupied the position of the Chief Justices of Nigeria from 1914 to date:

  1. Sir Edwin Speed, 1914-1918
  1. Sir Ralph Combe, 1918-1929
  1. Donald kingdon, 1929-1946
  1. Sir John Verity, 1946-1954
  1. Sir Stafford Sutton, 1955-1958
  1. Adetokunbo Ademola, 1958-1972
  1. Taslim Olawale Elias, 1972-1975
  1. Darnley Arthur Alexander, 1975-1979
  1. Atanda Fatai Williams, 1979-1983
  1. George Shodeinde Sowewimo, 1983-1985
  1. Ayo Gabriel Irikefe, 1985-1987
  1. Mohammed Bello, 1987-1995
  1. Muhammad Lawal Uwais, 1995-2006
  1. Salihu Moddibo Alfa Belgore, 2006-2007
  1. Idris Legbo Kutigi, 2007-2009
  1. Aloysius Iyorgyer Katsina-Alu, 2009-2011
  1. Dahiru Musdapher, 2011-2012
  1. Aloma Mariam Mukhtar, 2012-2014
  1. Mahmoud Mohammed, 2014-2016
  1. Walter Samuel Nkanu Onnoghen, November 2016 till date.

, , , , , , , ,


Leave a Reply