The prestigious Africa Magic Viewers’ Choice Awards (AMVCA) took place on Saturday, March 7, 2015 at Eko Hotel Convention Centre.

The event which was transmitted live on Africa Magic stations via DSTV, saw Kunle Afolayan walk away with the biggest awards of the night thanks to his ‘October 1’ movie which won 9 awards!

Tayo Faniran presents Best New Media Video Online Award. The winner is Imoh Umore for “Hard Times”.

Sika Osei and Ozzy Agu present Best Short Film Award. The Winner is Ekene Mekwuenye for “Oblivious”

Kaylah Oniwoh and Emmanuel Ikubese present award for Best Drama Writer. The winner is Tunde Babalola

Guests are still walking in, nicely dressed, faces heavy with a smug glow and all of that.

Uti Nwachukwu and Eku Edewor present Best Comedy Writer Award. The winner is Tunde Babalola for “The Meeting”.

Gbenro Ajibade and Kemi Kemi Lala present Best Cinematography Award. The winner is Stanley Ohikuare.

Mavins Crew up on stage but there’s no Tiwa Savage. Don Jazzy is in blue Agbada while D’Prince has a blue suit on.

Iretiola Doyle and Yemi Blaq present Best Documentary Movie Award. The winner is Yvonne Bassey for “The Gift Of The Nile”.

Basketmouth is on stage and cracks everyone up with the infamous white and gold/ black and blue dress. He throws shade at D’banj, Tonto Dikeh and Dame Patience Jonathan.

Femi Jacobs and Verve Marketing Manager present Best Supporting Actor (Drama) Award. The winner is Blossom Chukwujeku.

Kehinde Bankole presents Best Supporting Actress Award. The winner is Linda Ejiofor.

Helen Paul and Chinedu Ikedieze present Best Actor in a Comedy. The winner is Femi Jacobs.

Tuface Idibia and Lola Rae perform “Let Somebody Love You”.

Funke Akindele presents Best Comedy Movie Award. The winner is “The Meeting” (by Rita Dominic and Mildred Okoh).

Kate Henshaw and Brand Manager of Nigerian Breweries present Best Movie (Drama) Award. The winner is Steve Gukas for “A Place In The Stars”.

The winner, Steve Gukas, goes home with a million naira and 6 months’ supply of Amstel Malta.

Rita Dominic presents New Era Award. Ayo Makun (AY) wins for “30 Days In Atlanta”.

Eulogy for the fallen Nollywood maestro, Amaka Igwe. A short video of her lifetime is currently showing at the awards venue.
A posthumous award has been presented to late Amaka Igwe. It was received by her husband Charles Igwe.

Amaka Igwe was presented with an Industry Merit Award.

Kunle Afolayan’s “October 1” wins for Best Movie of 2014.

Psquare performing “Shekini” at the AMVCA 2015.

Don Jazzy joins the duo on stage to perform the hit song, “Collabo”.

P Square closes the AMVCA 2015 with their performance, quite a thrilling show in all.

Leave a Reply


COVID-19 is Real! Wear your masks always & wash your hands, too.