AFIFC 2018: First Bank FC Wins CBN Cup

The First Bank of Nigeria  Football Club of Lagos has emerged champions of the 32nd edition of the All Financial Institutions Football Competition, AFIFC

First Bank of Nigeria Football Club of Lagos

First Bank defeated the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) Football Club of Abuja by 4-2 on penalties after a pulsating match decided at the Lekan Salami Stadium, Adamasingba, Ibadan,  Oyo state.  

Both sides were equal (1-1) at the end of regulation time.

Azabe Zunariyya Microfinance Bank Team.

Speaking at the event, graced by the ex-super Eagles maestro, Mutiu Adepoju, the CBN Governor, Mr. Godwin Emefiele, commended all the teams that participated in the competition, stressing that the tournament was one of the Bank’s foremost and oldest Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) functions.

The Controller of th Ibadan Branch of CBN, Mrs. Ajuma Modojemu with match officials.

Emefiele, represented by the Controller of the Ibadan Branch of CBN, Mrs. Ajuma Modojemu, reiterated the Bank’s commitment to make positive contributions towards the promotion and development of sports in the country.

Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) Football Club of Abuja

While lauding the increase in the number of financial institutions involved in this year’s competition, the CBN Governor urged non-participating financial institutions to register for next year’s edition.

Presentation of trophy to the Winner FBN FC

He thanked the Oyo State Government for making the stadium available and the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) for mobilizing financial institutions and ensuring a hitch-free competition.

He further acknowledged the contribution of the media and all football fans for the excellent conduct during the competition.

In the third-place play-off that preceded the final match, Azabe Zinariya MFB FC spanked Balogun Fulani MFB FC 6-2 to cart home the bronze medal.

Leave a Reply


COVID-19 is Real! Wear your masks always & wash your hands, too.