Reps Urge Acting President To Swear In 2 Ministerial Nominees

The House of Representatives has called on the Acting President Professor Yemi Osinbajo to swear in the two ministerial nominees recently approved by the Senate.

It said that the Ministers – designate were from Kogi and Gombe states.

The call was sequel to a motion brought under matters of urgent national importance by a PDP member from Kogi state, Mr Karimi Sunday at plenary.

Mr Sunday had expressed concern that the states were  not  represented in the Federal Executive Council, adding that the currently constituted council was a breach of section 14(2) and section 147(3) of the 1999 constitution.

The Lawmaker, therefore urged the house to prevail on the acting president to swear in the ministers designate.

The motion was unanimously adopted when it was put to a voice vote by the Deputy speaker, Mr Lasun Yussuf who Presided at the plenary.

Appointed of the two ministers, Professor Stephen Ocheni from Kogi and Suleiman Hassan from Gombe were confirmed by the Senate on  3rd May 2017.


Leave a Reply


COVID-19 is Real! Wear your masks always & wash your hands, too.